| |

Top 5 Teams to Win the ODI World Cup 2023

The Top 5 Teams to Win the ODI World Cup 2023 ICC Men’s ODI World Cup 2023 is just a few weeks away, and cricket fans are excited to see which team will win the trophy in India. The tournament will have 10 teams, and they’ll play in a round-robin format, followed by the knockouts. The final will be on November 19 at the 

Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, the world’s largest cricket stadium.

This article will explore the top teams expected to dominate the competition and the rising stars who could leave a lasting impact. The stage is set for an exhilarating clash between ten elite cricket teams as they compete for the ultimate honor of lifting the prestigious championship trophy. But which teams have the best chance of winning the title? Here are the top five favorite teams based on their recent performances, rankings, and squad strength


India is the host country with a strong batting line-up led by captain Rohit Sharma and vice-captain Hardik Pandya. Their bowling attack is well-balanced with pacers like Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, and Mohammed Siraj and spinners like Ravindra Jadeja and Kuldeep Yadav. India has won the World Cup twice before and will be eager to win it again on home soil.


The defending champions, England, are also strong contenders. They have a powerful batting unit with players like Jason Roy, Jonny Bairstow, Joe Root and Jos Buttler. Their bowling attack is versatile, with pacers like Chris Woakes and Mark Wood and spinners like Adil Rashid and Moeen Ali. England won the World Cup in 2019 and will aim to retain their title.


Australia, a five-time champion, is always a formidable team. They have a strong batting line-up with players like David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Steve Smith, and Glenn Maxwell. Their bowling attack includes pacers like Mitchell Starc and Pat Cummins and spinners like Adam Zampa and Ashton Agar. Australia has won the World Cup five times before and will be determined to add another trophy to their collection.

New Zealand:

New Zealand, the runners-up of the last two editions, is also a favorite. They have a solid batting line-up with players like Kane Williamson, Devon Conway, and Tom Latham. Their bowling attack is lethal with pacers like Trent Boult and Tim Southee and spinners like Mitchell Santner and Ish Sodhi. Though they haven’t won the World Cup yet, they’ve reached the final three times and will be eager to clinch the title this time.


Pakistan is considered the dark horse of the ODI World Cup 2023. They have a talented batting line-up, including players like Babar Azam, Imam ul Haq, Mohammad Rizwan, and Iftikhar Ahmed. Their bowling attack features pacers like Shaheen Afridi and Naseem Shah and spinners like Shadab Khan and Mohammad Nawaz. Pakistan won the World Cup in 1992 and will be hoping for a magical performance in India.

Other teams to watch out for in the World Cup:

While India, England, Australia, Pakistan, and New Zealand are considered the most dangerous teams, cricket is a dynamic sport, and surprises can come from other participating teams. Teams like South Africa and Sri Lanka have shown their capabilities in the past and should not be underestimated.


The ODI World Cup 2023 promises to be an exhilarating event, with India, England, Australia, New Zealand, and Pakistan emerging as the top contenders. Cricket enthusiasts worldwide eagerly await the thrilling battles and unforgettable moments this prestigious tournament will undoubtedly bring. Remember to mark your calendars with the Cricket World Cup dates and brace yourself for an unforgettable cricketing spectacle that will keep us all on the edge of our seats. Let the battle begin!

Similar Posts