Ajit Agarkar

India Appoint Former Fast Bowler As New Chief Selector

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced the appointment of former fast bowling all-rounder Ajit Agarkar as the Chairperson of the Senior Men’s Selection Committee. 

Agarkar, who had a renowned international career playing 26 Tests, 191 ODIs, and four T20Is, brings a wealth of experience to the role. He was also part of the 2007 T20 world cup winning team squad. He recently served as part of the coaching staff for the Delhi Capitals in the Indian Premier League and worked as a Mumbai selector from 2017 to 2019.

Earlier this year, Chetan Sharma was initially appointed as the Chairperson of selectors, but he was subsequently removed from the position. As India’s cricket team going through a transitional phase and the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup approaching, Agarkar faces a significant challenge in his new role.

The BCCI’s Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC), consisting of Ms Sulakshana Naik, Mr Ashok Malhotra, and Mr Jatin Paranjape, conducted interviews for the Men’s Selection Committee selector position. The CAC unanimously recommended Ajit Agarkar for the role, considering his vast international playing experience. Agarkar has played the most international matches among the existing committee members, including Shiv Sundar Das, Subroto Banerjee, Salil Ankola, and Sridharan Sharath.

Agarkar’s immediate task will be to name the T20I squad for the upcoming series against the West Indies. This will involve crucial decisions, such as determining the captaincy for the shortest format, including whether Hardik Pandya will retain the captaincy. 

Furthermore, he will need to assess the future of players like Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli in the T20I format. Another significant responsibility for Agarkar is to finalize the squad for the highly anticipated 2023 Cricket World Cup, which must be accomplished within the next two months.

The Men’s Selection Committee, under the leadership of Ajit Agarkar, comprises Shiv Sundar Das, Subroto Banerjee, Salil Ankola, and Sridharan Sharath. Agarkar’s appointment follows Shiv Sundar Das’ interim headship of the committee during the transitional period between Chetan Sharma’s departure and Agarkar’s appointment.

As Agarkar takes charge of the selection committee, Indian cricket fans eagerly anticipate his decisions regarding team composition and strategy. His vast experience and cricketing knowledge will play an important role in shaping India’s future in international cricket.

Similar Posts