ICC Reveals Prize Money for World Cup 2023

ICC Reveals Prize Money for World Cup 2023, The 13th edition of the ICC Men’s ODI World Cup 2023 is set to kick off on October 5, featuring an exciting opening match between the defending champions, England, and the runners-up of the 2019 World Cup, New ZealandIndia secured their spot as hosts, while the following seven teams earned their place through their Super League performance.

ICC Reveals Prize Money for World Cup 2023

New Zealand, England, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Australia, Afghanistan, and South Africa. For Sri Lanka and the Netherlands, the journey to the World Cup was more arduous, as they had to prove their mettle in the Qualifier matches. Cricket fans worldwide can look forward to a thrilling tournament as teams battle it out for the coveted title on the grand stage of the 2023 ICC Men’s ODI World Cup. Amid the ongoing buzz, the International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced the prize money for the upcoming ICC event. 

Prize Pool for the 2023 World Cup:

The ICC has unveiled a substantial prize pool of USD 10 million for the forthcoming global cricket tournament. In this allocation, the 2023 Men’s Cricket World Cup winners are set to pocket an impressive USD 4 million from the total prize fund. The runners-up will secure a commendable prize of USD 2 million, while the teams that reach the semi-final stage, only to narrowly miss out on the title, will be granted USD 800,000 each.

In addition to the main prize distribution, the teams will be remunerated during the tournament’s Group Stage as well. Teams will receive USD 40,000 for each triumph in their Group Stage matches. Furthermore, after the Group Stage, teams that do not progress to the knockout rounds will be granted USD 100,000 each as a consolation prize.

The breakdown of prize money allocations is as follows:

StageRate US$Total US$
Winner (1)4,000,0004,000,000
Runner-up (1)2,000,0002,000,000
Losing Semi-Finalist (2)800,0001,600,000
Teams eliminated after group stage (6)100,000600,000
Winner of each group stage match (45)40,0001,800,000
Total 10,000,000

This World Cup edition promises to be unique as it marks India’s sole hosting of the prestigious multi-nation ICC event. Notably, India has co-hosted the World Cup in 1987, 1996 and 2011. Ten teams will compete in this thirteenth edition of the ICC event, with matches scheduled to run from October 5 to November 19. All 10 teams will play each other once in a round-robin format in the Group Stage. ICC Reveals Prize Money for World Cup 2023 All teams will play against each other for a total of 45 league matches. The top four will qualify for the semi-finals, to be played in Mumbai on November 15 and in Kolkata on November 16. The semi-finals and the final will have reserve days.

The defending champions England and the runner-up in 2019 New Zealand will kick off the competition in two weeks’ time. The hosts, India, will begin their campaign against five-time winners Australia on October 8 and then build up to the group stage’s marquee clash with Pakistan on October 14. The matches are spread across 46 days and 10 cities with the final scheduled on November 19 in Ahmedabad.

The recent ICC decision to offer equal prize money for both men’s and women’s events sets the precedent for the next Women’s World Cup in 2025.

Similar Posts