Harbhajan Singh predicts his four semi-finalists for ICC World Cup 2023

Harbhajan Singh predicts his four semi-finalists, With the ICC ODI World Cup 2023 just around the corner, fans worldwide are eagerly awaiting the tournament’s start on October 5th in India. The tournament opener is set to feature a thrilling clash between England and New Zealand, both of whom were finalists in the previous edition of the tournament. As the cricketing world gears up for this much-anticipated event

Harbhajan Singh predicts his four semi-finalists

Former India spinner Harbhajan Singh has offered his insights and predictions on the four teams he believes will secure a place in the semifinals.

Harbhajan terms Pakistan as an average side

Harbhajan, renowned for his spin wizardry during his playing days, assessed Pakistan’s chances in the ODI format, noting that they excel in T20 cricket but are relatively less potent in the 50-over format. Harbhajan Singh predicts his four semi-finalists Speaking on his YouTube channel, Harbhajan stated, “People are saying Pakistan could advance to the semifinals but in the 50-over format, they are just average. They play good cricket in T20Is.”

Harbhajan’s top four semi-final picks

In contrast to his assessment of Pakistan, Harbhajan unequivocally named India, Australia, England, and New Zealand as his four picks for the semifinals of the ODI World Cup 2023. These selections underscore the strong cricketing prowess and rich history of these cricketing giants.“My fourth pick would be New Zealand. (India, Australia, England, New Zealand) are my four semifinalists for the World Cup,” Harbhajan added.


India is the host country with a strong batting line-up led by captain Rohit Sharma and vice-captain Hardik Pandya. Their bowling attack is well-balanced with pacers like Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, and Mohammed Siraj and spinners like Ravindra Jadeja and Kuldeep Yadav. India has won the World Cup twice before and will be eager to win it again on home soil.


Australia, a five-time champion, is always a formidable team. They have a strong batting line-up with players like David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Steve Smith, and Glenn Maxwell. Their bowling attack includes pacers like Mitchell Starc and Pat Cummins and spinners like Adam Zampa and Ashton Agar. Australia has won the World Cup five times before and will be determined to add another trophy to their collection.


The defending champions, England, are also strong contenders. They have a powerful batting unit with players like Jason Roy, Jonny Bairstow, Joe Root and Jos Buttler. Their bowling attack is versatile, with pacers like Chris Woakes and Mark Wood and spinners like Adil Rashid and Moeen Ali. England won the World Cup in 2019 and will aim to retain their title.

New Zealand:

New Zealand, the runners-up of the last two editions, is also a favorite. They have a solid batting line-up with players like Kane Williamson, Devon Conway, and Tom Latham. Their bowling attack is lethal with pacers like Trent Boult and Tim Southee and spinners like Mitchell Santner and Ish Sodhi. Though they haven’t won the World Cup yet, they’ve reached the final three times and will be eager to clinch the title this time.


Cricket fans all over the world are brimming with optimism as they look forward to the tournament’s commencement. The ICC World Cup 2023 is slated to take place in India during October and November, featuring a total of 10 participating teams. The tournament is set to kick off on October 5, with the final match scheduled for November 19. India will open their World Cup campaign on Sunday, October 8, when they take on Australia in Chennai. India, led by Rohit Sharma, enters the tournament with high expectations and hopes to continue the trend of home teams securing victory in the World Cup. The last three editions have been won by the host nations: India in 2011, Australia in 2015, and England in 2019.

Similar Posts